Freedom Quartet

Freedom Quartet was formed in 2013 when John Rulapaugh (tenor, Dove Brothers/Palmetto State Quartet/Grand Ole Gospel Reunion Quartet/Blackwood Quartet) and his longtime singing companion Burman Porter (bass, Dove Brothers/Palmetto State Quartet/Blackwood Gospel Quartet) reunited and joined forces with one of Gospel Musics most revered lead singers, Dale Shipley. Dale is best remembered as the original lead singer for the renowned group “Perfect Heart,” and is a member of the Texas Gospel Music Hall of Fame as a result of his days singing with Bob Wills & The Inspirationals. The most recent addition to Freedom Quartet is baritone Scott Mullins. Scott hails from Charleston, West Virginia and has filled the baritone spot for groups such as The Gospel Harmony Boys and, most recently, Tim Greene’s Trio - “The Greenes.”

Freedom Quartet was chosen as Favorite New Traditional Quartet
in the 2015 Singing News Fan Awards.